Getting It Right

Life trumped my plans to get rid of my bronchitis with rest, hot toddies and select medications. While laying in bed recuperating, I watched the February 21, 2012 episode of the Fox television series Glee. This episode, “On My Way,” was shocking in its brutal honesty and, I hope, educated those outside of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender population of the very high percentage of suicide by teens and young people because of the teasing, harassment and physical and verbal abuse they suffer from peers, parents and too many religions.

I could not allow this teachable moment to pass without comment. It hit far too close to home for me for several reasons. Hence, instead of resting, over the next few days I wrote an entry on my blog Words From A Wicked Woman called Suicide By Glee. There are some sentences that, while grammatically correct, are too complex for my comfort, but I suspect this blog entry is one of the most important I’ve ever written. There was no room to get it wrong. In this case, failure was definitely not an option.