Update on the new magazine

It’s been a long time since I’ve updated this blog’s readers about the upcoming launch of the new online women’s magazine. First of all, the registered name is Wicked Woman Magazine, LLC. The actual magazine will be WickedWomanMag.com.

Secondly, we’ve worked the logo out, but I have to make it 300 dpi. Even then, I’m keeping it under tight wraps until the first issue in October. Oh yes, there’s a launch date. WickedWomanMag.com will go live at 12:00:01 a.m. October 1, 2013. It will be a little different from the publication I described last October. I’ve expanded the target audience to include all women 35+. Included in that audience is women of all colors, women of all sizes, women of all sexual orientations and disabled women. The mag is oriented toward professional women, entrepreneurial women and women in middle-management. However, I believe that there will be a secondary audience that’s a bit younger and aspires to be a Wicked Woman. It’s also quite possible we’ll attract a few men.

I decided to expand the demographic because I didn’t want to be balkanized into obscurity. It’s time that paradigm changed. It’s awfully difficult to learn about other people and cultures when there’s a different delivery system that serves to separate more than is necessary. WickedWomanMag.com will change that. The concept is designed to feature diversity in photos, articles  and even ads. Indeed, I plan to actively encourage advertisers to feature people who look like our readers. We’ll see how many actually manage that feat. 

I’m in the process of hiring freelancers now. Look for an announcement about them within the next several weeks. I had no choice but to cut some spaces I really wanted to fill. They will roll out gradually as WWM gets its footing in the coming months. Remember that the inaugural issue will not necessarily be the same mag you’ll read in the October, 2014. The content and audience will both grow.  In doing so, it is inevitable that there will be growing pains. Indeed, I’m already aware of some cosmetic changes I’d like to make beginning in the second year. 

Finally, the company officially has an I.D. That is, it has an employer identification number from the Internal Revenue Service. This is the first time in my life I’ve actually wanted to pay taxes. If WWM is paying taxes, that means that it’s making money.

Remember: WickedWomanMag.com goes live at 12:00:01 a.m. October 1, 2013. If you aren’t sure how far away we are from the launch date, just go to the site and view the countdown clock. Believe me, we’re on our way!

This post was updated August 1, 2013.

